Ladybirds and Bumblebee Documents

Ladybird and Bumblebee Autumn Term Blog (Click on title)

Ladybird and Bumblebee Autumn Term 2 Blog (Click on title)


At Millbrook Primary School we follow the Statutory Framework for Early Year Foundation Stage. Our curriculum is guided by this and Development Matters.

Statutory Framework for EYFS - Early years foundation stage (EYFS) statutory framework – GOV.UK (
Development Matters - Development Matters – GOV.UK (

We provide a child-centred, creative and engaging curriculum across 7 areas of learning, with a real focus on using high-quality texts and a language-rich environment to support children’s learning and vocabulary development.

These 7 areas of learning consist of three prime areas and four specific areas.

The prime areas are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas are:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The reading scheme used throughout the school is Oxford Reading Tree from Oxford University Press. We use their ”Floppy’s Phonics” systematic synthetic phonics teaching programmes to teach phonics.

Ladybirds and Bumblebee Newsletters